Yaoi Con 2012: The Day Before: What happened on the way to Odessa.

If you’re here, you are probably a fujoshi. I say that but it’s also possible that you’re not, so bear with me. Or don’t read.

And if you’re a fujoshi, you have heard of Yaoi Con. In the past it was ran by a group of fans which in turn ran the con behind a non-profit. Somehow behind the scenes (and I don’t know how it all came to be) DMP (or DMI) took over. They’re now running the show.

I say that, but in reality it’s still the same group of fans that are running things. The difference would seem to be the financial backing and know-it-all that DMP brings to the table.

DMP decided to move the convention from San Francisco to Long Beach. I doubt there’s many people who are happy with the move. The few people I’ve talked to have not been happy with this decision. So why fix something that isn’t broken? My guess is that DMP is located nearby (Gardena, CA) and it’d be easier for them to cart their stuff and coordinate from their home turn than hundred of miles away where the volunteers were based. Or at least the people helping to organize this massive event.

Please keep in mind that this is all deduction on my part. I have not spoken to anybody from the convention. But I will speak about what I have observed.

One of the ladies in the van on the way to the hotel mentioned that DMP seemed to be disorganized and I agreed with her. Their website clearly states:

If you need to find a roommate for the convention, we recommend you contact fellow Yaoi-Con fans on Facebook or via twitter. For those of you without Facebook accounts, a forum will be made available shortly. (1)

I needed to find out if there were other people arriving at LAX at the same time as I so we could share the shuttle ride. There’s a link there and it takes you to Facebook, but you have to sign in. I don’t have a Facebook account. I couldn’t connect with fans. One of the ladies in the shuttle did tell me that there were not a lot of people posting to that Facebook account. And by the way, those two ladies who ended up riding with me were there by chance and we didn’t agree to meet before hand.

So I tried Twitter. This is the conversation we had. They directed me to Facebook again. Completely useless for me. And the worst thing is that I had to log in. The group is private! Well, even if it were public, there’s not much it could do for me. I still don’t have a Facebook account and I couldn’t communicate with anybody.

So my next step was checking the forum. I went to the Juné website and I searched for a link to their forum. You’d think it’d be on the menu on the left. It’s on the right! Fine. I clicked on it, signed in and scrolled all the way to the bottom only to find this lonely post in the con forum:

Well, that was that. I couldn’t connect with other fans. I did try the old Yaoi Con LJ communities (there are two) and the last posts are from earlier this year. So what are fans doing? Are they connecting? Are they even bothering to come this year?

The hotel is gorgeous, at least the lobby and the outside are. But now it’s time for the meat of this first post:

DMP doesn’t seem to have it all together.

Their schedule on the website still lists Odessa as the room to pick up pre-reg badges. Odessa was closed. Thankfully there was a big banner down the hallway that was visible from the Odessa room. It was the Tokyo room which is where registration will be located on Friday.

There’s a table with what looks like two lines. So I go to the line on the right and give the girl my last name. She sends me to the other line because she doesn’t have my letter. I told her that they should have signs saying that. She gave me a stupid non-answer.

I wonder if that’s how it’s gonna be when the masses arrive and there are lines snaking out and down the hallway. I’ve seen it at past cons and it’s always a drag. Imagine standing in line and you finally get to the table and you’re standing on the wrong side of the table.

On the upside, I got a goodie bag! It’s black and it says, “Yaoi Con” and the con’s website. Inside I was surprised to find a shrink wrapped manga volume. I got Love Syndrome which I’d never even heard about. The artwork style looks familiar and the mangaka’s name doesn’t.

These are the other things in the bag (except for my badge). My new prized possessions are that Black Sun sticker at the bottom of the picture (yes, it’s a sticker) and the little sticky note pad. They use Ogasawara’s artwork. How can it not be my new treasures?!

So that was zero day. I hope I can continue to review this convention. It’s the first one being run by DMP. I’m here because of that. The convention starts on Friday. There are small meetings during the day, but the meet of the day is for later that evening.

(1) http://www.yaoicon.com/hotel.php

About Azu

Fan of many things, cat owner, lazy, opinionated, and eternally broke.
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

