Yaoi Con 2012: The First Day: Short, but sweet.

I was out and about most of the day, but I came back mid-afternoon because Guilt|Pleasure was having a meet & greet at 6 PM.

I hadn’t noticed that the dealer’s room had already opened, so I ran there before the G|P meet & greet and bought stuff from them and Kahira. Then went over to the room for the meet & greet.

It was a full hour long. We got a history of how TogaQ started to illustrate Kichiku Neko’s In These Words novel, how Libre discovered her and how she handles family, work, and the ITW stories.

Then we had a trivia contest. You had to have read ITW, Father Figure, New York Minute and other titles I’d never heard of. People who answered correctly got prizes.

A nice surprise (I knew what this surprise was since I’d asked her something over Twitter and it came up in the conversation) was to be enjoyed. Guilt|Pleasure uses a model for poses. A lot of time and photographs have been spent and compiled. He (has a name, but I can’t remember it) is in the con this weekend and is cosplaying Shinohara from ITW. He’ll be auctioned tomorrow night at the Bishounen Auction.

I’m looking forward to tomorrow since lots of things will be happening. That’s pretty much all I did with the convention.

I do have to say that today being an almost not full day, I didn’t see a lot of people. Not as many as I’ve seen at the convention on Fridays. I can’t wait to see how it goes tomorrow. The hotel is in downtown Long Beach and there are things to do unlike the many other hotels where the convention took place in the past. DMP did its homework, but it’s too early to tell.

About Azu

Fan of many things, cat owner, lazy, opinionated, and eternally broke.
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yaoi Con 2012: The First Day: Short, but sweet.

  1. chickflix says:

    OMG I went to the G|P Meet and Greet too! It was so awesome. I only went on Friday to the con but it was the best experience since it was my first con. ^_^

    • aoi_aka says:

      I’m glad you had fun. The G|P ladies are awesome. Model!Shinohara was a hottie. Hopefully next year you’ll be able to stay longer. I hear the bingo and the auction are to die for.

      • chickflix says:

        Oh they were so wonderful. And funny! Oh gosh, don’t even get me started on the model….*dies inside* But next year I am definitely staying all three days! And oh I didn’t check those things out…I wonder what it was like..

        • aoi_aka says:

          I haven’t been to the bingo, but I did go to the auction a couple of times. It was loud and it can get rowdy. I don’t know if they’re doing anything different. Be prepared to be blown off your socks.

Leave a Reply

